Suddenly, I Feel Justified

March 13, 2013

Sweet, Sweet Vindication!

You’ve seen those burgundy late-1970s/early-1980s dresses made of slinky maroon polyester and lace with the high collars and flouncy tops. I love those floozy, completely-unflattering maxis. I’m not above using them for Edwardian era plays or dress-up.

Burgundy Dress, circa 1980

Burgundy Dress, circa 1980

Burgundy Dress, circa 1980

They are always a guilty pleasure, a nasty habit I felt I needed to hide from the prowling history snobs and costume gurus (I mean, seriously: that romance-novel-maroon wasn’t fooling anybody). I was like one of those bad kids in high school, only instead of sneaking out back with mom’s stolen cigarettes, I was sneaking out back with her prom dress.

Then, I found this:


Burgundy Dress, circa 1900

$T2eC16hHJHYE9nzpgIWLBRNpgMSONw~~60_57 $T2eC16NHJHIE9nyseGODBRNpf64)2!~~60_57 $(KGrHqN,!qEFEFc3KU6CBRNpgJMgeQ~~60_57


The only thing making me sad right now is that I missed the auction. :(

10 Responses to “Suddenly, I Feel Justified”

  1. the fabric is a little nicer, but the overall effect is equally hideous in the long run

    • Liz Says:

      It is so bad! But, on the plus side, if I accidentally dripped raspberry sorbet down the front, no one would be able to tell (though I would feel terrible about it).

  2. Aimee Sale Says:

    Wow! To bad you missed the auction, but being vindicated is always a plus! :-)

  3. Whahahahaha! it beautiful and hideous and awesome!!

  4. That dress looks amazing – love the colour.

  5. it looks dyed……..maybe in the early 80´s :-)

  6. Isabella Says:

    Raspberry beret the kind you get at a second store … It’s the only lyric of that song that is going through my head after seeing this.

    And for the truly hideous, I might scan in some pictures of the dresses my Mom wore when she was in her late 20’s/early 30’s. A lot of them were “Victorian” inspired. ;-)

  7. Congrats, m’dear, I’ve awarded you the “Very Inspiring Blogger” award! (


  8. Rose Says:

    I’ve actually recently discovered in of those! I actually like the high collar, color, and lace. My friend and I were shopping at a thrift store, and discovered the burgundy wonder. I’m actually in the process of trying to thrift it into something 1895-1900 (that seems the best fit for the silhouette). Should I blush and stay away from it? I know it’s totally non-period polyester, but I really love it. Would the color be a dead giveaway? And if I went ahead with it, do you think it would be possible to disguise the waist seam (at my natural waist) in favor of a waist a bit lower and add some fabric to give it the illusion of a bigger chest more typical of the time?

Leave a Reply

