The “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” Pops by for a Visit

March 28, 2013

In the midst of moving, I was surprised and delighted to open my computer to find that Lauren Elizabeth (also known as the ever-fabulous American Duchess) had awarded me the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award!”

very-inspiring-blogger-award

I’m exceptionally flattered, especially since I began this blog with the intention of inspiring and motivating others (and quite often, myself. Because laziness.)

The award demands that you:
1. Display the award and link back to the person who nominated you.
2. State 7 facts about yourself.
3. Nominate 15 bloggers for the award.
4. Notify the winners.

The Factual Seven:

1. I have been known to walk into an antique store, instantly fall in love with something, then inexplicably wander around the store for two hours debating whether to buy that “special something” or not. I usually don’t. Then I panic and drive back the next day hoping it’s still there.
2. My favorite color is green. Except when my favorite color is orange or maybe wine…
3. I love gummy bears on my ice cream.
4. Sometimes, I buy shoes I never will wear.
5. I got married on March 24th and am the middle of moving into a new apartment.
6. Three hours without a snack is too long.
7. My favorite activity out on the town is going to old-fashioned token arcades. I could spend hours (and waaay too much money) playing Smokin’ Token or Token Twister. And I always spend the tickets I earn on candy.

The Award Nominees:

Madame Isis' Toilette Making cosmetics from historical recipes Madame Isis’ Toilette Making cosmetics from historical recipes

Locks of Elegance Easy Historical Hairstyles Locks of Elegance Easy Historical Hairstyles

The Thread-Headed Snippet Historical and vintage fashion with a sense of humor The Thread-Headed Snippet Historical and vintage fashion with a sense of humor

Historical Sewing Excellent historical sewing and reenacting advice Historical Sewing Excellent historical sewing and reenacting advice

All The Pretty Dresses Extant gowns found outside of museums All The Pretty Dresses Extant gowns found outside of museums

Tea-Drunk Tailor Costuming isn’t just for girls, even if you are a girl! ;) Tea-Drunk Tailor Costuming isn’t just for girls, even if you are a girl! ;)

https://i1.wp.com/image0-rubylane.s3.amazonaws.com/shops/antiquarianhome/04688.1T.jpg Opusanglicanum History, cats, and amazing textile projects

https://i0.wp.com/img.ehowcdn.com/other-people/ds-photo/getty/article/178/121/87970913_XS.jpg Tea in a Teacup 18th century, Jane Austen, and more

http://s7d5.scene7.com/is/image/Lumens/uu387145_Transparent-Pink-Black?$swatch$ Madame de Pique Art, beauty, and unusual history

https://i2.wp.com/encycl.opentopia.com/enimages/snap/3955/3954246.jpg The Laced Angel Fabulous underpinnings and other historical costuming projects

 

10 Responses to “The “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” Pops by for a Visit”

  1. Maria Says:

    Congratulations on winning the award! Also, congratulations on your wedding! Hope that the moving goes smoothly!

  2. The Choll Says:

    HOLY SHAZBOT! You’re married?! No rambling for two years over decorations and gown fittings? No endless posts about being insulted by your Maid of Honor’s decision to start a family at an inconvenient time? No photographs of your groom in tortured postures of elegance as you smirk into a photographer’s lens?? I feel so cheated.

    Congratulations, from the bottom of what used to be my heart. I am so happy for you! A thousand blessings upon you! You’re already off to a great start: I didn’t make your cake.

    • Liz Says:

      One of my giddy aunts has a video of me almost putting the ring on the wrong hand before the officiant whispered calmly into the microphone: “That’s the wrong hand.” Does that count?

      As for the cake: I made it myself. Out of Little Debbies. Only time will tell what sort of marriage outcome a tower of chocolate Swiss cake rolls portends…

      • The Choll Says:

        Swiss Cake Roll Tower? I’m pretty sure that’s the only way to roll if you want lasting happiness. It sounds fabulous, personal and fun, exactly as a wedding should be. I love weddings (and shocking secrets) so you’re my hero right now. Happy honeymoon year!

  3. Isis Says:

    Thank you so much! And, I must confess, being quite sleepy, when I was to answer you on my blog, I managed to delete your comment instead. I’m very sorry! Very clumsy of me.

  4. Isis Says:

    And, of course, congratulations!


  5. Oh my goodness, thanks for the award and all of the plugs recently! It means a great deal to me! Also, super-congrats on your marriage. Spring is such a lovely time for it. :)


  6. […] thanks to Liz, of the pragmatic costumer, who nominated me for another blog things award, this one is very […]


  7. Thank you ever so much for nominating me! You’re too kind :)

    ♥ Samantha


Leave a Reply

