A Brief Diversion

July 15, 2013

Playing Virtual Dress-up

I’ve been working on an early 17th century outfit for about 2 months now, but I’ve hit a slight financial roadblock, halting all the dress-up fun in its tracks. While I love Countess Elizabeth Vernon, I don’t have the moxy to go parading around in my incomplete costume just yet…

“Portrait of Elizabeth Vernon, Countess of Southhampton” by an unknown artist, circa 1590

What’s a girl to do when she’s an only half-dressed? Play dress-up for free, of course! Since parading around in half-costume is kind of unseemly (and uncomfortable, since I’m still working on procuring shoes), I went back to my pre-college addiction to virtual paper dolls, specifically the Tudor Scene Maker by Azalea’s Dolls:


This thing is darn impressive! It has options for everything from sleeve types to ruffs to the color of the flowers on the overskirt! You can be as historically accurate or inaccurate as you please:


Queen Elizabeth I versus Kyana, Queen of Stardust!

The virtual paper doll generator is based on the show The Tudors, but the doll maker is surprisingly historically accurate and offers lots of variations for both ladies and lords! Having difficulty getting the gents to wear trunk hose (those puffy pantaloons made of fabric strips)? Dress up a virtual baron instead!


He’s sexy and he knows it. He just likes to mask his enthusiasm for trunk hose behind a wall of contempt.

The best part, however, if that I can “dress up” in as many outfits as I can dream up without having to buy fabric, patterns, or anything else. The miser in me is beyond happy! I can finally make my sister that Elizabethan gown she’s always wanted…


Late 16th century glitz for her, awesome 17th century blackwork for me!

If you’re more interested in fantasy, there are plenty of other awesome dress-ups out there. If you’re a big Lord of the Rings fan like me, you can design clothes for some jolly Hobbits:


or tailor a few outfits for a LOTR dwarf or two, complete with sexy beards for the ladies!


Sorry for the “fluff” post. More fabric-and-thread costumes are in the works, but for now, I’m going to have fun with these. :)

2 Responses to “A Brief Diversion”

  1. that does look like fun – I’ll make sure to stay a long way away from that corner of the interenet

  2. Fran Says:

    Oh my, there goes my work for the afternoon… :-) Many thanks for this fun discovery!

    (PS: this is my first comment here, but I’ve been following your blog for a while now and find it endlessly enlightening and fascinating)

Leave a Reply

