Shear Madness: I am One of the Mad!

January 4, 2015

Shear Madness: The Joy of Impractical Costuming

Challenge #5: Popping Tags

For the past year, I’ve been a “floating” member of the costuming group Shear Madness. Shear Madness embraces all forms of costuming–historical, cosplay, theatrical, etc.–and sets forth costuming challenges every quarter for its members and each challenge has its own twist. The last challenge was “Popping Tags,” a thrifting challenge! I hadn’t joined any of these challenges before because I felt I wasn’t a worthy contender, but everyone is so fabulously supportive. With a big push of encouragement from the group leader, Laura, I submitted my striped Regency dress…and I got second place!


A big thank you to the judges, everyone in the group, and all you lovely folks who have read my rambling and supported my costuming misadventures through the years!

Curious about which costume won? Check out the Shear Madness blog!

9 Responses to “Shear Madness: I am One of the Mad!”

  1. Melanie Says:

    Huzzah! Well done. They had such nice comments about your work, too. Of course the surprise of the winner was great fun. Won’t spoil it for your readers here since they should check it out themselves.

    And bonus points for directing us to yet another fun blog! Thanks, Liz.

  2. Clive Foden Says:

    Huzzah! Well done!

  3. Clive Foden Says:

    Oh that was scary! I didn’t (and couldn’t) see Melanie’s comment when I wrote mine…….. Anyway, what an accolade! Super stuff, keep up the inspiration for all of us extreme sewers out here.

  4. Laura Says:

    Congratulations! I also followed the link and loved seeing the rest of the entries. I also love that the judges’ comments were thoughtful and encouraging, so now I have a new blog to follow!

  5. The Goose Says:

    Congrats!!! Nice job. You go Liz!!!!!

  6. Laura Says:

    Thank YOU for entering! Your work is always lovely. Can’t wait to see what you come up with for the next challenge!

  7. Lauren Says:

    Okay, so this has nothing to do with the post, but I’m unsure of where to pose my question and I need your advice!
    I’m going to a speak-easy party (late 1920s/early 1930s) and I’m suppose to dress in period style. But, I don’t want to spend a lot of money. I can sew -simple things. I have a pair of historically accurate black and white heals from the era, as well as a pair of black heals that would work.. What sort of outfit, re-fashion, upcycle, thifty thing would you do?
    PS: I LOVE how you create the most amazing pieces. I’m in awe of your ability!

    • Liz Says:

      For inspiration, here’s a nice overview of fashion year by year from the 1920s and the 1930s to help you decide what sort of look you want. The late 1920s and early 30s, you’ll notice, look very similar to the 1980s (slim hips, wide shoulders, low waist), minus the big puff sleeves. I myself have scoured the thrift shop racks for 1980s dresses to turn into last-minute 1920s dresses. Drop waists came into fashion again, so if you are lucky, you can find dresses that need very little alteration besides removing shoulder pads (or, on occasion, sleeves). If you want to be glittery and beaded and smothered in glamour without having to do it all yourself, that’s the way to go! 1980s patterns can also be found easily and cheaply (like this one or this one). In the right fabric with accessories and an appropriate hairstyle, they become 1920s dresses quite easily. There are also a number of tutorials you can follow that are simple, quick, and allow for a lot of creative choice. These are just a few:
      20 Minute 1920s Dress” by Kass uses scarves to create a swingy, fun dress.
      8 Easy 1920s Costumes You Can Make” by the Vintage Dancer shows you how to can mix and match thrifty finds and stuff you may already have lying around the house to create different looks.
      Many people also like to use the “One Hour Dress” pattern. There are many similar patterns available online, especially on Etsy.
      For future reference, the best place to ask questions is on my Facebook page!

  8. Lauren Says:

    Oh, you are just the BEST! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

