Late to the Ball: An Antique Dress Find

1930s/1940s Party Dress

I am addicted to ebay. Seriously. It’s a giant, perpetual estate sale that knows no borders! My latest treasure? This 75 year old party gown– snatched up for only $45! It’s bias-cut (my favorite!) and has sleeves that would make the 1890s proud! The little flower pattern is flocked and most of the seams are tight, but the red and lavender flowers will need to be pressed and there is obvious fading. It’s also missing one button, so there is a little work to be done. I hope to get it all fixed soon and have better photos of it for you later– more projects to add to my to-do list!

Now if only there were time machines so I could go back to high school and wear this to prom. I think I would have had much more fun!

Leave a comment